The Columbia Metropolitan Airport is formally recognized as the Richland-Lexington Airport District (RLAD) and is a special purpose district of the state of South Carolina.

The RLAD is governed by 12 commissioners. Five members are appointed by the Lexington County Legislative Delegation, five members are appointed by the Richland County Legislative Delegation, and two members are appointed by the City Council of the City of Columbia. Commission members serve up to two consecutive four year terms or until their successors are appointed. The commission meets at 4:00pm on the third Monday of the month in the Carolina Room unless otherwise noted.  Meetings are open to the public.

City of Columbia Representatives

  • Carol Fowler
  • Breon Walker, Esq.

Lexington County Representatives

  • Dan P. Bell
  • Pat Smith
  • Hank Jibaja
  • Richard McIntyre – Vice Chairman
  • William “Bill” Dukes

Richland County Representatives

  • Hazel L. Bennett
  • Duane Cooper
  • David N. Jordan
  • DJ Carson, Esq.
  • James L. Whitmire – Chairman